Welcome to the Arnesen lab


We are a Research Group at the University of Bergen, Norway, located on the 6th floor of the Biomedical Building at the Department of Biomedicine. We take a variety of biochemical, molecular and cell  biology approaches to address fundamental questions related to the biology of protein modifications.

In particular we are interested in protein N-terminal acetylation. We study N-terminal acetyltransferases and how these enzymes influence cellular processes and human disease.



n-terminal acetylation

Most proteins are chemically modified in the cell and such modifications are often crucial for the protein’s ability to carry out a function. N-terminal acetylation is one of the most common modifications in eukaryotes. It is catalyzed by N-terminal acetyltransferases (NATs) which are linked to cancer, genetic syndromes, and regulation of human metabolism.

The Arnesen lab is part of the Translational Cell Signaling and Metabolism (TSM) research group at the Department of Biomedicine, University of Bergen, Norway.

Learn More →



roles of n-terminal acetyltransferases

The Arnesen Lab has a new review on the Co-translational, Post-translational, and Non-catalytic Roles of N-Terminal Acetyltransferases out in Molecular Cell.

Read more →


Actin Modifications: Finding the Right Shoe for Cinderella

Researchers from the Arnesen lab have written a review about posttranslational modifications of actin and how it affects cytoskeletal control.

Read more →

Publication of the year

The Arnesen Lab is proud to receive the University of Bergen Faculty of Medicine's publication of the year award for the back-to-back publications in PNAS

NAA80 is actin’s N-terminal acetyltransferase and regulates cytoskeleton assembly and cell motility


Structural determinants and cellular environment define processed actin as the sole substrate of the N-terminal acetyltransferase NAA80

The work was performed by the following present lab members: Adrian Drazic, Henriette Aksnes, Sylvia Varland, Rasmus Ree, Line M. Myklebust, Markus Baumann, Nina Glomnes, and Thomas Arnesen along with alumni Marianne Goris, Håvard Foyn, Michaël Marie, Parminder Bhambra, and Svein I. Støve.

Meltzer Award

Photo: Thor Brødreskift/UiB

Photo: Thor Brødreskift/UiB

The Meltzer Award for Outstanding Young Researchers 2019 was awarded jointly to Adrian Drazic and Selina Våge.

The Arnesen Lab could not be more proud. Adrian has been a phenomenal researcher and colleague for the past four years, deciphering the biological role of NAA80 and teaching students biochemical experiments.

Read more on PåHøyden [Norwegian]

Last updated June 4, 2019.